Back to


Hi there, my name is Rory! I live in Seattle where the weather is quite sunny right now despite being called the rainy city. I have two dogs, a Chow Chow and a Corgi Australian Shepard. I have an older sister named Jansen who is 17 and just finishing her Junior year. I on the other hand am going to be the youngest on this trip and finishing my freshman year of high school! Although I go to a Catholic all girls school called Holy Names Academy I do not conform to a religion myself, but I love to learn about religions around the world.

I am a swimmer, I love to hike, backpack, and go on runs. I have been swimming since I was 7 years old and still love it just as much, as for running I only just started to like it this year. About 3 summers ago I went backpacking with my family and some friends down in California through the Sierras for about 11 days which was gorgeous despite all the forest fires. In addition to that we went backpacking around Mt. Hood in Oregon and that was quite the adventure with wash outs and fast moving rivers. I am extremely excited to be exploring Guatemala and all the landscapes.

As far as Spanish goes I’ve been taking Spanish since sixth grade and am just learning Future tense. Last year my family and I went to Patagonia and went glamping through the Torres de paine mountains, then we went down to Chile, and lastly back to Argentina, Mendoza. There I was able to speak a little Spanish but it was a struggle don’t get me wrong.

I am so excited to meet all of you. I love making new friends although right off the bat I’m sure I will be a little shy. The adventures and stories that we will share together are going to be amazing and I can’t wait to explore this country with you all, and of course I’m nervous, but I’m mostly excited beyond comprehension!

See you in a few weeks!