Back to

Hey everybody, I’m Arman!


I’m Arman, and I live in San Francisco. I’m 17 years old, and I just graduated from high school. A little bit about me, I was born in Colorado, grew up in Boston, spent a lot of summers with my extended family in Atlanta, and attended high school in SF. I’m going to stay in California for the foreseeable future as I’ve decided to go to UCLA for college. I’m blessed to have spent (and will spend) most of my life in major cities that have overwhelming diversity in culture, religion, and languages. As a result, I’ve been a little obsessed with languages my whole life. I speak Farsi (Persian) at home, learn/learned French in school, and study Mandarin with the help of outside classes and different learning tools.

Besides my interest in improving my Mandarin in China, I am really looking forward to learning about things like tea culture, martial arts, and political or economic life in China. Something I think I’ll really enjoy will be the urban and rural host families because of its potential to greatly improve my Chinese and allow me to connect with a group of people I’ve never met before.

Other than that, I play basketball and soccer and love watching sports in general. I did Model UN, debate, and a program called We the People in high school. I use a lot of California and Boston slang, but I don’t think I’ll be able to translate it into Chinese over there. I’m an outdoorsy person, so I can’t wait for some of the hikes!

I’ve never been to this side of the world, and I’m sure that this trip will make me want to come back again and again. Also, I can’t wait to get to know all of you! Based on all the intros I’ve read, all of you seem amazingly interesting and dedicated people.