Back to
Students in a long tail boat in Indonesia. Photo by Aaron Slosberg, Indonesia Semester.


Helloo everyone!

My name is Jessica, I introduce myself as Jessie, and that almost always turns into Jess after a few weeks of knowing me. I’m an avid whistler and optimist from Virginia Beach, Virginia, in an area sandwiched between the Atlantic Ocean and Chesapeake Bay. I’ve grown up doing activities in and around the water, and being near any body of water is where I feel most at home, so you can imagine how excited I am to visit the Bajau people.

Last year I was a freshman at University of Michigan, but this semester I am taking a gap while I apply to transfer to other schools in the spring. In my free time you can find me playing guitar (I can still only play one song- I’m Yours by Jason Mraz), swimming, writing, or wandering off somewhere looking for an adventure. I’ve also gotten really into music in the last year. Some of my favorite groups/artists are Pinegrove, Frankie Cosmos, and Maggie Rogers, or any kind of live performance. I’m always looking for new tunes, so don’t be afraid to show me your favorite album!! Also, I don’t watch a lot of tv, but I am obsessed with Rick and Morty.

When I’m home I live with my mom, dad, brother, and two dogs. A lot of my extended family lives in VB as well, and I love nothing more than when we all get together. My dad’s sister and her family actually live behind our house, so my cousin and I call the area between us our shared backyard. Anyways, the first picture I’ve posted is of me and my mama, and the next is of Griffin (left) and Lyza (right). The last one, in order from left to right, is my dad, grandpa, brother, me, mom, aunt, and uncle (the aunt and uncle who live across the street).

I think am most nervous about being so physically far away from home and how I will manage my constantly tangled curly hair, but my nerves don’t compare to how excited I am for this adventure.

Oh, and one last thing! For my ISP I am thinking of doing something with music, or perhaps with different folklore/stories.

I cannot wait to meet all of you!!!